Sunday, June 16, 2024
HomeNewsInternationalTravel Ban: UK to remove Nigeria from travel red list Today Dec...

Travel Ban: UK to remove Nigeria from travel red list Today Dec 15

The United Kingdom (UK) says the 11 African countries on its travel red list will be removed from 4 am on Wednesday, December 15.

The countries on the list are Nigeria, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, Angola, Mozambique, Lesotho, Malawi, Zambia, Eswatini, and Zimbabwe.

The red list was introduced in November following the emergence of the Omicron COVID-19 variant.

Speaking at the UK parliament on Tuesday, Sajid Javid, UK health secretary, said the Omicron variant “has spread so widely across the world,” hence the travel red list is now “less effective”.

He said the Omicron variant had spread so widely that the rules no longer had much purpose.

“Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the UK and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad,” he told parliament.

“Whilst we will maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel we will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4 am tomorrow.”

The UK government had added Nigeria to the list due to the discovery of COVID Omicron cases in the country.

Presently, British citizens and residents travelling from Nigeria to the UK are expected to spend £2,285 on hotel quarantine for ten days to slow the spread of the Omicron variant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular